Equity and Diversity Committee

The Equity and Diversity Committee fosters an open dialogue among CalArts students, faculty and staff and addresses issues relating to equity and diversity on our campus and beyond. The mission of the Equity and Diversity Committee is to support diversity at CalArts through interaction, education, and practice.

The committee members liaison with students, faculty and staff through regular meetings and events; create effective and thought-provoking programming around questions of equity and diversity, specifically designed for artists and cultural producers broadly defined; and help frame effective platforms of engagement to keep issues of equity and diversity on the forefront.

If you have questions or issues for the committee, please contact Institute Diversity Officer Eva Graham at egraham@calarts.edu or call 661-222-2785.

Committee Members

  • Ryan Adame, Student
  • Erin Michelle Collins, Registrar 
  • Tracie Costantino, Provost 
  • Sam Durant, Faculty-School of Art 
  • Andrea Fontenot, Director, Writing Center; Faculty, School of Critical Studies 
  • Cy Gage, Institute Academic Advisor 
  • Charles Gaines, Faculty-School of Art 
  • Patricia Gonzalez, Executive Director of International and Community Partnerships 
  • Eva Graham, Institute Diversity Officer 
  • Brian Harlan, VP, Student Experience and Assoc. Provost, Integrated Learning 
  • Jess Love, Director of Campus Life
  • Andrea LeBlanc, Associate Dean, Co-Head of BFA Acting 
  • Chebon Marshall, Chief of Staff 
  • Sophia McDowel, Student 
  • Zachary Morgan, Associate Director, Institutional Research 
  • Maria-Victoria Perez, Director, Care and Wellbeing 
  • Abigail Salling, Assistant to the Office of the President 
  • Dionne Simmons, Director, Community Rights and Responsibilities, Title IX Coordinator
  • Sarah Umles, Academic Affairs Manager, Office of the Provost 
  • Roberta Uno, Director of Arts in a Changing America