IDEA Committee

The Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Access (IDEA) Committee fosters an open dialogue among CalArts students, faculty and staff and addresses issues relating to equity and diversity on our campus and beyond. The goal of the Institute Committee is to identify and address internal barriers to student and employee success as it relates to Access, Equity and Inclusion.

The committee members liaison with students, faculty, and staff. The work is accomplished thru:

  • Participating regular meetings;
  • Dissemination of funding through a competitive process that seeks to support effective and thought-provoking programming around questions of equity and diversity, specifically designed for artists and cultural producers broadly defined;
  • Creating/facilitating institute-wide engagement thru, training, workshops and professional development activities to keep issues of equity and diversity on the forefront.

If you have questions or issues for the committee, please contact Institute Diversity Officer Eva Graham at or call 661-222-2785.

Committee Members

  • Aduza Amoa, Student
  • Maggie Bowman, Staff
  • Ling Chang, Student  
  • Mariela DeMaio, IDEA Program Coordinator
  • Patricia Gonzalez, Staff
  • Eva Graham, Institute Diversity Officer and IDEA Director
  • Derrick Harris, Staff
  • Isha Khanzode, Student 
  • Fran Krause, Faculty
  • Shelby McNabb, Staff
  • Ariel Osterweis, Faculty
  • Susan Perry, Staff
  • Lily Rodriguez, Staff
  • Abigail Salling, Staff
  • Janet Sarbanes, Faculty
  • Lee Anne Schmitt, Faculty
  • Melissa Shepherd-Williams, Staff
  • Dionne Simmons, Staff
  • Shirley Tse, Faculty
  • Chi-Wang Yang, Faculty 
  • School of Music: Open