2020-2021

July 1 Wednesday   Payment period begins and tuition statements are available online
August 13 Thursday Tuition payment deadline without a $200 late fee
August 28 Friday Final tuition payment deadline
September 18 Friday Deadline to Drop Fall Courses with 90% Refund
September 25 Friday Deadline to Drop Fall Courses with 75% Refund
October 2 Friday Deadline to Drop Fall Courses with 50% Refund
October 9 Friday Deadline to Drop Fall Courses with 25% Refund
November 2 Monday Payment period begins and tuition statements are available online
December 18 Friday Tuition payment deadline without a $200 late fee
January 15 Friday Final tuition payment deadline
January 15 Friday Deadline to Drop Spring Courses with 90% Refund
January 22 Friday Deadline to Drop Spring Courses with 75% Refund
January 29 Friday Deadline to Drop Spring Courses with 50% Refund
February 5 Friday Deadline to Drop Spring Courses with 25% Refund
TBD   Payment for Summer 2020 Tuition & Fees
TBD   Deadline for Summer 2020 Tuition
May 17 Monday Deadline to Drop Summer Courses with Full Refund
May 24 Monday Deadline to Drop Summer Courses with 75% Refund
May 25–27 Tuesday–Thursday Summer Drop Period with 50% Refund


*Official notice is the date a withdrawal or leave of absence form is received by the Office of the Registrar.

  • Required fees are non-refundable.
  • Course fees will be refunded until the last day to add or drop classes.
  • Refunds will be issued for complete withdrawal or leave of absence based on the above schedule. No refunds will be issued for a change in mode of instruction.
  • In direct correlation with the tuition refund policy, CalArts institutional scholarships/grants will be calculated according to the same percentage(s) as the tuition being charged/refunded to students who, for any reason, take a Leave of Absence or Withdraw from the Institute, following the start of an academic term.