Bill Alschuler
Faculty
walschuler@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2406
E119

Bill Alschuler received a doctorate in astronomy from UC Santa Cruz. He was an invited speaker at the 6th and 8th International Symposia on Display Holography, has recently had holograms on show in an exhibit associated with the New Museum in NYC, and has held research and education grants from... Continue reading »

Amanda Beech
Dean
abeech@calarts.edu
661-253-7804
E123Y

Amanda Beech is an artist and writer. Her work proposes a new realist politics of the artwork and its possibilities in the context of contingency and neo-rationalist conceptions of power. Recent solo shows include: Covenant Transport, Move or Die, Baltic Museum, UK, 2016; All... Continue reading »

Michael Bryant
Associate Dean
Faculty
mbryant@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2241
E125

Mike Bryant is a biologist and a statistician.  His research has appeared in several scientific journals: Science, Nature, American Naturalist, Ecology, PLoS, Animal Behaviour and Environmental Biology OF Fishes.  Mike’s research interests in biology include functional... Continue reading »

Tisa Bryant
Faculty
tbryant@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2412
E129

Teaching interests: fiction and non-fiction, mythologies, revision and adaptation, cross-cultural/cross-genre/hybrid writing, archives/research/source texts, style and mechanics of narrative Tisa Bryant (MFA, Brown 2004) makes work that often traverses the boundaries of genre, culture and... Continue reading »

Gabrielle Civil
Faculty
gcivil@calarts.edu

Gabrielle Civil is a black feminist performance artist and writer, originally from Detroit, MI. She has premiered fifty original performance artworks around the world. Since May 2014, she has been performing Say My Name (an action for 270 abducted Nigerian girls) as an act of embodied... Continue reading »

Hilary Darling
Director of Summer Institute
Adjunct Faculty
hdarling@calarts.edu
661-253-7724
F301

Hilary Darling is a poet and scholar of English Literature focusing on the works of Shakespeare, the Victorians and the multi-cultural tradition of fairy tales. She has earned a BFA in English Language and Literature from Smith College as well an MFA from the Writing Program at CalArts. She... Continue reading »

Brian Evenson
Faculty
bevenson@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2249
E132

BRIAN EVENSON is the author of more than a dozen books of fiction, most recently the story collection A Collapse of Horses (Coffee House Press, 2015) and the critical book Ed Vs. Yummy Fur: Or What Happens When a Serial Comic Becomes a Graphic Novel (Uncivilized, 2014).  His... Continue reading »

Andrea Fontenot
Director, The Writing Center
Faculty
afontenot@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2028
E123A

Chandra Khan
Faculty
ckhan@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2029
E116

Chandra Khan received her doctorate in Cultural Geography from Kent State University, Ohio. She brings both geographical and art historical perspectives to her teaching and research. Her areas of interest include the visual cultures of modern South Asia, the South Asian Diaspora and the growing... Continue reading »

Norman Klein
Faculty
nklein@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2409
E118

Norman Klein is a critic, urban and media historian, and novelist.  His books include: The History of Forgetting: Los Angeles and the Erasure of Memory; Seven Minutes: The Life and Death of the American Animated Cartoon; The Vatican to Vegas: The History of Special Effects; Freud in Coney... Continue reading »

Anthony McCann
Faculty
amccann@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2241
E125

Anthony McCann was born and raised in the Hudson Valley. He is the author of four collections of poetry including Thing Music (Wave Books, 2014). His book Shadowlands: Fear and Freedom at the Oregon Standoff (Bloomsbury, 2019) is a nonfiction prose work investigating the 2016... Continue reading »

Claire Phillips
Adjunct Faculty
cphillips@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2409
E118

Claire Phillips is the author of the novella, Black Market Babies (11th Hour), and recipient of the Academy of American Poets, First Prize. She received a notable mention in Best of American Essays, 2015 for her essay Hanging From the Chandeliers. A Pushcart nominee and regular... Continue reading »

Martín Plot
Fellow
mplot@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2248
E131

Martín Plot (PhD, New School for Social Research, 2004—Alfred Schutz Memorial Award in Philosophy and Sociology) is Research Fellow in Political Thought in the MA Aesthetics and Politics program. He works in the fields of political and social theory and conducts research and writes... Continue reading »

* Faculty Emeritus
Part-time Faculty
12