Claire Phillips
Adjunct Faculty
cphillips@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2409
E118

Claire Phillips is the author of the novella, Black Market Babies (11th Hour), and recipient of the Academy of American Poets, First Prize. She received a notable mention in Best of American Essays, 2015 for her essay Hanging From the Chandeliers. A Pushcart nominee and regular... Continue reading »

Martín Plot
Fellow
mplot@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2248
E131

Martín Plot (PhD, New School for Social Research, 2004—Alfred Schutz Memorial Award in Philosophy and Sociology) is Research Fellow in Political Thought in the MA Aesthetics and Politics program. He works in the fields of political and social theory and conducts research and writes... Continue reading »

Janet Sarbanes
Faculty
sarbanes@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2249
E132

Teaching Areas: Narrative Theory; Cultural Studies; Fiction; Critical Theory; Arts Writing Janet Sarbanes is the author of the short story collections Army of One and The Protester Has Been Released. Recent short fiction appears in Black Clock, P-Queue,... Continue reading »

Matias Viegener
Faculty
viegener@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2426
E124

Teaching Interests: Critical Theory; Fiction & Non-fiction, Gender Studies; Literature; Social Art Practice Matias Viegener is a writer, artist and critic who works solo and collaboratively in the fields of writing, visual art, and social practice.  He is the author... Continue reading »

Jon Wagner
Faculty
jwagner@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2512
E123B

Teaching Interests: Film, Video, TV Theory; Critical Writing; Poetics Jon Wagner (PhD, School of Cinematic Arts, USC) is a scholar, translator, and poet who helped establish the MFA Writing Program at CalArts in 1994 and served as its Associate Director or Director until 2005. He continues... Continue reading »

Christine Wertheim
Faculty
wertheim@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2426
E124

Teaching Interests- Pataphysics, nonsense, feminist art history, science and art, violence of language Christine Wertheim is a poet, performer, critic, curator, crafter and collaborator teaching at CalArts. She has eight books including three poetic suites, The Book of Me, mUtter-bAbel, and... Continue reading »

James Wiltgen
Faculty
jwiltgen@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2248
E131

James Wiltgen received a bachelor's degree in Political Science from the University of Iowa and a doctorate in Latin American History from UCLA. Combining contemporary theory and historical analysis, he teaches courses on modernity and capitalism, megacities, Latin-American film and video, music... Continue reading »

* Faculty Emeritus
Part-time Faculty
12