Save the Date - the CalArts Gala at REDCAT - May 14

Ravi Rajan
President of CalArts 

Joao Ribas
Executive Director of REDCAT & Vice President for Cultural Partnerships


Charmaine Jefferson and Michael Skloff

cordially invite you to

The CalArts GALA at REDCAT on May 14

Join us at the Roy and Edna Disney/CalArts Theater (REDCAT), our downtown center for contemporary arts, for an evening of celebration where philanthropy meets fun.


2022 Honorary Degree
Recipients, Extraordinary Jazz Artists
Distinguished Alumnx Award Recipients
Featured Toasts for Exceptional Service to CalArts:
  • Tim Disney, Board Chair (2014-present)
  • Tom Lawson, Dean of the School of Art (1991-2021)

Purchase Tickets

Get your tickets to the CalArts Gala today. 100% of the net proceeds from the CalArts Gala will be used to provide scholarship support for current and future students.

For more information, please contact us at

Buy Tickets


Saturday, May 14, 2022

  • 6:00 p.m. Gala
  • 7:45 p.m. Event Program
The evening includes:
  • 50+50: A Creative Century from Chouinard to CalArts, alumnx artist-led exhibition that is generating critical support for students
  • An awards program honoring outgoing Board of Trustees Chair Tim Disney, Emeritus Dean of the School of Art Tom Lawson, and Distinguished Alumnx of the Year, Jorge Gutierrez and Lauren Halsey
  • Our in-theater experience will close with a jazz inspired musical performance celebrating our evening guests and 2022 Honorary Doctorate Recipients Charles Lloyd, Wayne Shorter, and esperanza spalding.

Host Committee List

Current Trustees

Joan Abrahamson
Lyndon Barrois, Sr.
David A. Bossert
Don Cheadle
Melissa Cobb
Clarissa Crawford
Caroline Cronson
Jonathan Dolgen
David Fisher
Rodrigo García
Westley Garcia
Rick Haskins
Karen Hillenburg
Charmaine Jefferson
David G. Johnson
Thomas Lloyd
James B. Lovelace
Jamie Alter Lynton
Greg McWilliams
Ramsey Naito
Tina Perry
Keith Rivers
Jordyn Ross
Tom Rothman
David Schiff
Cauleen Smith
Clark Spencer
Susan Steinhauser
Theresa Strempek

Trustee Emeriti

Austin M. Beutner
V. Shannon Clyne
Joseph Cohen
Robert J. Denison
Douglas K. Freeman
Harriett F. Gold
Jeffrey Katzenberg
Thomas L. Lee
Peter Norton
Michael Pressman
Janet Dreisen Rappaport