Main Entrance
CalArts has set the pace for educating professional artists since 1970.

Mission Statement

CalArts is a multidisciplinary community of artists. Our ongoing educational endeavor is grounded in openness, experimentation, critical engagement, and creative freedom. Through artistic practice, we transform ourselves, each other, and the world.


California state law vests the authority of management of California Institute of the Arts in the Institute’s Board of Trustees. Working with the Institute’s president and its academic and administrative officers, the Board of Trustees holds fiduciary and overall responsibility for the welfare of CalArts. The Institute’s leadership also consults with the Board of Overseers, a New York-based advisory panel.

Academic and Administrative

Ravi S. Rajan

Tracie Costantino

Chebon Marshall
Chief of Staff & Assistant to the President for Government/Community Affairs

Lori Husein
Senior Vice President, Finance & Administration

Natalie Farrar Adams
Interim Chief Advancement Officer

Jesse Smith
Vice President, Operations & Facilities; Chief Operating Officer

Anna Hawkey Jablonski
Interim Vice President of Enrollment and Students 

Eva Graham
Institute Diversity Officer

Thomas Lawson
Dean, School of Art

Amanda Beech
Dean, School of Critical Studies

Dimitri Chamblas
Dean, The Sharon Disney Lund School of Dance

Abigail Severance
Interim Dean, School of Film/Video

Volker Straebel 
Dean, The Herb Alpert School of Music

Travis Preston
Dean, School of Theater

Joan Jocson-Singh
Institute Librarian 

Marylou Ferry
Interim Executive Director of Communications

Erin Collins