Press Releases

College & University Presidents Call for U.S. to Uphold and Continue DACA

CalArts President Steven D. Lavine joined more than 100 other college and university presidents from public and private institutions in signing an open letter to uphold and continue the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA). The leaders cite the “moral imperative” and “national necessity” for the issue and have offered to meet with U.S. leaders and the new administration to discuss DACA. 

Statement in Support of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) Program and our Undocumented Immigrant Students

The core mission of higher education is the advancement of knowledge, people, and society. As educational leaders, we are committed to upholding free inquiry and education in our colleges and universities, and to providing the opportunity for all our students to pursue their learning and life goals.

Since the advent of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program in 2012, we have seen the critical benefits of this program for our students, and the highly positive impacts on our institutions and communities. DACA beneficiaries on our campuses have been exemplary student scholars and student leaders, working across campus and in the community. With DACA, our students and alumni have been able to pursue opportunities in business, education, high tech, and the non-profit sector; they have gone to medical school, law school, and graduate schools in numerous disciplines. They are actively contributing to their local communities and economies.

To our country’s leaders we say that DACA should be upheld, continued, and expanded. We are prepared to meet with you to present our case. This is both a moral imperative and a national necessity. America needs talent – and these students, who have been raised and educated in the United States, are already part of our national community. They represent what is best about America, and as scholars and leaders they are essential to the future.

We call on our colleagues and other leaders across the business, civic, religious, and non-profit sectors to join with us in this urgent matter.

James Mullen
President, Allegheny College

Jeff Abernathy
President, Alma College

Biddy Martin
President, Amherst College

Paul Pribbenow
President, Augsburg College

Steven Bahls
President, Augustana College

Marjorie Hass
President, Austin College

Leon Botstein
President, Bard College

Debora Spar
President, Barnard College

Clayton Spencer
President, Bates College

Scott Bierman
President, Beloit College

Mariko Silver
President, Bennington College

Robert Brown 
President, Boston University

Clayton Rose
President, Bowdoin College

Christina Paxson
President, Brown University

Kimberly Cassidy
President, Bryn Mawr College

Steven Lavine
President, California Institute of the Arts

Chris Kimball
President, California Lutheran University

Mildred García
President, California State University Fullerton

John Hurley
President, Canisius College

Barbara Snyder
President, Case Western Reserve University 

Brian Casey
President, Colgate University

David Greene
President, Colby College

Sarah Bolton
President, College of Wooster

Katherine Bergeron
President, Connecticut College

Yves Salomon-Fernandez
President, Cumberland County College

Phil Hanlon
President, Dartmouth College

Carol Quillen
President, Davidson College

Claire Sterk
President, Emory University

Daniel Porterfield
President, Franklin & Marshall College

Elizabeth Davis
President, Furman University

John J. DeGioia
President, Georgetown University

Janet Morgan Riggs
President, Gettysburg College

Jose Antonio Bowen
President, Goucher College

Raynard Kington
President, Grinnell College

David Wippman
President, Hamilton College

Drew Faust
President, Harvard University

Kimberly Benston
President, Haverford College

James Troha
President, Juniata College

Sean Decatur
President, Kenyon College

Teresa Amott
President, Knox College

Jonathan Burke
President, Laguna College of Art and Design

Randal Wisbey
President, La Sierra University

Barry Glassner
President, Lewis & Clark College

Timothy Law Snyder
President, Loyola Marymount University

Brian Linnane, S.J.
President, Loyola University Maryland

Brian Rosenberg
President, Macalester College

Lucas Lamadrid
President, Marymount California University

Richard Moran
President, Menlo College

Laurie Patton
President, Middlebury College

Beth Hillman
President, Mills College

Sonya Stephens
Acting President, Mount Holyoke College

Morton Schapiro
President, Northwestern University

Judith Maxwell Greig
President, Notre Dame de Namur University

Marvin Krislov
President, Oberlin College

Jonathan Veitch
President, Occidental College

Lawrence Schall
President, Oglethorpe University

Rock Jones
President, Ohio Wesleyan University

Michael Sorrell
President, Paul Quinn College

Eric Barron
President, Penn State University

Melvin L. Oliver
President, Pitzer College

David Oxtoby
President, Pomona College

Christopher Eisgruber
President, Princeton University

John Kroger
President, Reed College

David Leebron
President, Rice University

Robert Barchi
President, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Eugene Cornacchia
President, Saint Peter's University

Michael Engh
President, Santa Clara University

Karen Lawrence
President, Sarah Lawrence College

Lara Tiedens
President, Scripps College

Philip Glotzbach
President, Skidmore College

Kathleen McCartney
President, Smith College

Edward B. Burger
President, Southwestern University

Samuel Stanley
President, Stony Brook University

Valerie Smith
President, Swarthmore College

Bernadette Gray-Little
Chancellor, The University of Kansas

Seamus Carey
President, Transylvania University

Joanne Berger-Sweeney
President, Trinity College (CT)

Danny Anderson
President, Trinity University

Anthony Monaco
President, Tufts University

Satish K. Tripathi
President, University at Buffalo

Ralph Hexter
Interim Chancellor, University of California, Davis

Howard Gillman
Chancellor, University of California, Irvine

Pradeep Khosla
Chancellor, University of California San Diego

Michael A. Olivas
Interim President, University of Houston-Downtown

Devorah Lieberman
President, University of La Verne

Wallace Loh
President, University of Maryland, College Park

Mark Schlissel
President, University of Michigan

John Jenkins
President, University of Notre Dame

Amy Gutmann
President, University of Pennsylvania

Isiaah Crawford
President, University of Puget Sound

Ralph Kuncl
President, University of Redlands

James Harris
President, University of San Diego

Paul Fitzgerald
President, University of San Francisco

Denise Doyle
Interim President, University of the Incarnate Word, San Antonio

Pamela Eibeck
President, University of the Pacific

Stephen Morgan
President, University of the West

Jonathan Chenette
Interim President, Vassar College

Tori Haring-Smith
President, Washington & Jefferson College

Kenneth Ruscio
President, Washington and Lee University

Paula Johnson
President, Wellesley College

Michael Roth
President, Wesleyan University

Sharon Herzberger
President, Whittier College

Stephen Thorsett
President, Willamette University

Adam Falk
President, Williams College

Peter Salovey
President, Yale University