Equity and Diversity Committee

The Equity and Diversity Committee fosters an open dialogue among CalArts students, faculty and staff and addresses issues relating to equity and diversity on our campus and beyond. The goal of the Institute Committee is to identify and address internal barriers to student and employee success as it relates to Access, Equity and Inclusion.

The committee members liaison with students, faculty, and staff. The work is accomplished thru:

  • Participating regular meetings;
  • Dissemination of funding through a competitive process that seeks to support effective and thought-provoking programming around questions of equity and diversity, specifically designed for artists and cultural producers broadly defined;
  • Creating/facilitating institute-wide engagement thru, training, workshops and professional development activities to keep issues of equity and diversity on the forefront.

If you have questions or issues for the committee, please contact Institute Diversity Officer Eva Graham at egraham@calarts.edu or call 661-222-2785.

Committee Members

  • Aduza Amoa, Student

  • Erin Michelle Collins, Registrar

  • Tracie Costantino, Provost

  • Sam Durant, Faculty - School of Art

  • Andrea Fontenot, Director, Writing Center; Faculty, School of Critical Studies

  • Charles Gaines, Faculty - School of Art

  • Patricia Gonzalez, Executive Director of International and Community Partnerships

  • Eva Graham, Institute Diversity and Title VI Officer and IDEA Director

  • Andrea LeBlanc, Associate Dean, Co-Head of BFA Acting - School of Theater

  • Chebon Marshall, Chief of Staff

  • Abigail Salling, Deputy Chief of Staff

  • Lee Anne Schmidt, Director of Faculty Affairs (DOFA) - School of Film/Video

  • Dionne Simmons, Director, Community Rights and Responsibilities, Title IX Coordinator

  • Ashley Walters, Academic Affairs Manager, Office of the Provost

  • Music Faculty - Open

  • Dance Faculty - Open

  • Student - Open

  • Library - Open